Newbie with lots of questions

Options
Mr. Prep
Mr. Prep Registered Users Posts: 10
Hi everyone! I'm new to the idea of solar power and I'm creating a retreat location remote in the mountains. I know I can get a large amount of sun exposure and considering a grid tied/ stand alone system with a battery farm attached. I've done quite a bit of research and just have a few questions that would help me more understand. I plan on making the panels myself and have found a number of solar cell providers on the web. I am under the impression that like most things bigger is better, is this the case? I found 3x6 and 6x6 cells and the 6x6 seem to produce more amps and volts. Also which brand names are best?

Next is there a formula that will help me to determine how big, or how many, panels I would need?

Next in regards to batteries how many would I need? Which batteries would be best deep cell/standard, wet/dry?

Would it be best that the panels be fixed or movable?

When it comes to wiring, do I want thick wire, ie 8g, or do I want something thinner like 16g or 20g?

PLEASE, help me. Thank you.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newbie with lots of questions

Welcome to the forum.

Step #1: STOP! Do not spend a dime on anything. Plan first, buy later.

Some things about your post that indicate you have some more studying to do:
    considering a grid tied/ stand alone system with a battery farm attached

If you've got grid, use it. Off-grid power is very expensive.
    Terminology: you can have grid-tie (no batteries), off-grid (must have batteries), or hybrid grid-tie (includes battery back-up).
    I plan on making the panels myself

Change the plan. You can not possibly build panels as good a quality or as inexpensively as you can buy them for. You can build some as a learning experience, but what you will learn is that you have better things to do with your time and money.