250w grid tie inverters on E-bay

I am new to the solar thing (as you will be able to tell by my questions). I have been watching YouTube and the videos of everyone's very basic beginner systems. Most are using low cost (cheap) 250w to 400w grid tie inverters. Most say they have "island protection" but are not UL listed.

So my question is: are these people putting power back to the grid and the power company really doesn't know it? Meaning they are producing much less then they consume? I guess you can say they are doing this illegally?

My second question: If the manufacture says it has island protection...which seems to be the main safety issue for the PUD. Does that mean it doesn't work? I realize the whole UL listing comes down to cost most of the time, the cost of getting the listing. But what about actual performance...has anyone seen these say they have island protection yet it doesn’t work?

Just wondering what other people are doing....doing to get started without dropping thousands of $'s on systems???

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: 250w grid tie inverters on E-bay

What they're doing isn't legal. You can not have GT without co-operation of the utility and local AHJ. Got to be UL listed equipment and have all permits and inspections in place.

That doesn't mean they aren't doing it, but such guerrilla installs have problems. For instance if something goes wrong and the equipment is there it (and the owner) will be blamed whether or not it is the cause. Anti-islanding or not, the insurance companies can refuse to pay and the utility can pull the power if they find it (even if there is no problem).