anyone know much about these Korean Panels?

Options

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: anyone know much about these Korean Panels?

I have no experience with them, but when I read 24V nominal and see most of the panels have a VMP of 30 volts or less that sends up lots of red flags for me.
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • rollandelliott
    rollandelliott Solar Expert Posts: 834 ✭✭
    Options

why is that a red flag?
  • stephendv
    stephendv Solar Expert Posts: 1,571 ✭✭
    Options

You can view real-world performance of those panels on quite a few installations here:
    http://www.solar-yield.eu/plant/search

Type in "s-energy" in the "Module Producer" field.
  • Seven
    Seven Solar Expert Posts: 292 ✭✭
    Options
    why is that a red flag?

A 24v panel usually indicates that it should have 35ish VMp to be able to charge a 24v bank. You need just under 30v to do that. If the panels max is below that, there is an issue. That is my noob answer to your question. Others will have the exact answer shortly.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Seven wrote: »
    A 24v panel usually indicates that it should have 35ish VMp to be able to charge a 24v bank. You need just under 30v to do that. If the panels max is below that, there is an issue. That is my noob answer to your question. Others will have the exact answer shortly.

That is the right answer. :D