Which system is more beneficial:Drain Back or Glycol

My name is smith, resident of Morrisville, North Carolina. I have no more Knowledge about Solar System. i want to install a solar water heating system for my home. but, when i was trying to install Solar Water Heating System, I just stuck at the point which type of system we have to install : Drain back or glycol type system. which system is more beneficial according to environment?

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: Which system is more beneficial:Drain Back or Glycol

drainback is for areas that don't freeze ... your area would be glycol, meaning there is always fluid in the collector and pipes

Having answered that, Solar is no longer cost effective as the new generation of hot water tanks are heat-pump based. they cost on third the cost of a typical solar thermal system and use half the energy of resistive based hot water tanks, they also work regardless if its sunny or cloudy or dark out side.

I have installed and owned solar thermal, its not worth the hassle now that these new energy-star water heaters are available.

http://www.geappliances.com/heat-pump-hot-water-heater/
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like we disagree on drainback SG also. Drainback is the way to go for area's that freeze. It will never be as efficient as open loop but it is a simple way to avoid the hassles of ethylene glycol and the damage it can do over time.

Drainback had a bad reputation for the drain valves not working correctly but all that has changed in the last 10 years with mature design. You just walk by the tank and observe the level and you know that there is not water in the collectors. This can be automated and just a green light will tell you that all is well.