Longtime Lurker - ready to take the plunge

mart.park
mart.park Registered Users Posts: 5
I've been lurking on this site for a few months, trying to gather info for a small(er) PV system for my mountain cabin. Cabin is currently powered by a 6500w propane generator, 12 near new 305ah AGMs, and a 2500w 12v xantrex mod-sine inverter, which works ok for our needs, but is noisy.

I'm finally ready to plop down the money for a 2000w solar array, hopefully using 10-205w evergreen panels. Cabin is just outside of Las Vegas, NV, in the mountains at 6000ft, and has no access to grid power. As most people are these days, I'm on a budget, hoping to spend between 8K and 10K, doing most of the install myself as I was an apprentice electrician for 3 years.

Panels will be roof mounted on a garage, directly above the inverter/batteries, and I have 28'x17' of south facing space to work with. I plan on building a tilt mounting system to change between winter and summer orientations.

I am looking for help in sizing the various components I will need in addition to my current (minimal) setup, as well as some help with connecting it all up. I've never been "up close and personal" with PV panels/MC4 connectors, am ignorant on the benefits of more expensive Outback vs. cheaper Xantrex charge controllers, etc. Am I missing any important facts?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Longtime Lurker - ready to take the plunge

In order to get a good handle on system design, you first must understand and define your loads. A couple of "rules" apply to of grid systems. The first is people underestimate their loads, and over estimate their solar gain, all leading to bad system design and premature battery failure.