Peter Brenner: Help before I buy system

Peter Brenner
Peter Brenner Registered Users Posts: 14
Hello,

I know this thread is over a year old but I'm a new guest on this forum. I'm researching the details of an independent power system and solicit the advice of the best minds on this forum.

I'm a power plant electrician by trade with a background in electronics repair. I live in rural eastern Oklahoma, which has gained a wicked reputation for ice storms and extended power outages during the last few years. While off-grid power has been a dream and an intellectual pursuit for several years, it has become more serious lately.

I'm currently overhauling a 1960 25 KW Onan 3-phase gasoline genset with a 232 c.i.d. Ford industrial engine. It may not be the best but an old gentleman gave it to me because I was the only one he knew who could "do something with it." I've recently purchased a 20-acre tract of land and am setting up a small farm so now is the time to lay out the new power system. The property already has commercial power and I've begun to install the manual power transfer switch in the garage.

During the 1990's, I purchased a video tape from a certain Joe Bourgeois of Metamarie, LA. This man had a off-grid plantation style home with a 4500 Watt Dimensions sinewave inverter, a 24 volt 1200 A/h forklift battery, and a 15KW diesel generator. He had successfully used his system for three years before producing his video and never had a power outage. Therefore, I'm convinced Joe's system can be duplicated and perhaps improved.

My objective is to have a fully functional off-grid system to engage with the manual transfer switch. I'm thinking of the 25 KW Onan genset (adapted for natural gas or propane) and an Aims 24 volt DC 7000 Watt 240 volt AC inverter with MSW output.