learning to troubleshoot broken parts

I have been a lurker on this forum for a little while now, but I have never had the resources to build my own system. You guys have impressed me with your knowledge and practicality and I have seen you help a lot of people with solar questions, so I was hoping that now you could help me.

I am a mechanical engineer with some experience in electronics. I spent a few months at avocational school in Missouri where I disassembled and reassembled an off grid 900W system using all Outback components, so I have some experience with putting systems together.

I am going to Papua New Guinea soon to provide general technical support to Missionaries and Nationals in the north coastal regions. I will be flying into villages and doing everything from water purification to waste treatment to tractor repair to building houses and installing solar systems. Most people in that region who have power of any kind have small off grid solar systems, and most people in that region can't easily afford replacement equipment when things break.

It is almost inevitable that I will be asked to repair broken inverters and charge controllers for people who cannot afford replacements, but I do not have a lot of experience with this sort of thing. A friend of mine who is an electrical engineer, and highly experienced in the renewable energy field (all be it wind turbines), has graciously offered to spend time teaching me how to troubleshoot this type of equipment.

I think he will be able to teach me much more quickly if we have broken equipment to practice on, but I have no idea where I would get broken solar equipment to troubleshoot.