Really new guy

speedshot
speedshot Registered Users Posts: 6
Greetings all,

As mentioned I am really new to this, even the subjects discussed are out there to me (so many acronyms!)! Is there a glossary of terms where I can get some definitions and ground work info? I am doing some experimental work with solar now, but want to make more progress in that direction. Living in FL I am gleaning that the roof is probably NOT the best place for the panels. Rooftop temps here can hit 140 degrees F in the summer, not conducive to good energy production (but great for frying eggs!). I have a location to set the panels up that won't subject them to such temps, but need to ask about wire gauge to the controller. The distance to the controller is +/- 50'. The good sun time ranges from 4-8 hours, batteries are deep discharge marine type (sorry), inverter is a 2000/4000 surge (sorry again) and the panels (4 sets of 45 W (mega sorry!)) output 17.4 volts peak voltage. I'll stop blathering so I can find out how ignorant I am now. Hope this gives you a infinitesimal bit of info to go on.

Thanks
Speedshot

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Really new guy

There is the FAQ forum here--The first one is Glossary.

If you are not sure exactly what you want to with solar--there is kind of a "everything solar" list of projects and links here:

Working Thread for Solar Beginner Post/FAQ

You can choose to mount on your roof with 5"-6" air gap (does OK at keeping the panels cool), or you can ground mount or rack on roof mount. It is pretty flexible.
    I have a location to set the panels up that won't subject them to such temps, but need to ask about wire gauge to the controller. The distance to the controller is +/- 50'. The good sun time ranges from 4-8 hours, batteries are deep discharge marine type (sorry), inverter is a 2000/4000 surge (sorry again) and the panels (4 sets of 45 W (mega sorry!)) output 17.4 volts peak voltage.