Homemade roof mount help

I am planning to make my own roof mount, but since I have no experience in this area I would appreciate some feedback on my design (see pics below).

Here are the parameters:
  • Galvanized steel roof, corrugated with 1" flats, 4:12 pitch
  • Uni-Solar US64 panel (54"x29")
  • 1"x2"x1/8" Aluminum angle, bolted or welded in triangular shape
  • 4" gap under panel to prevent snow buildup

Some questions?
  1. Will the 1/8" Aluminum angle be strong enough?
  2. Will it need any additional bracing (diagonal?) to hold up to the wind?
  3. Due to the spacing of the flats, the panel cannot be bolted along the frame sides - just on the top and bottom panel frame. Is that OK?

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Steve

6oztzn.jpg

mkwwox.jpg

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Re: Homemade roof mount help

Looks potentially wobbly. I would cross brace.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Generally, for best strength against wind, the rails should be 1/4 the panel width in from each end -- rather than at the edges. Your current design could let the center of the panel bow in and out.

You could also do the mounting you have and place one more dead center too (three mounts total).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i'll agree with dwh's suggestion of crossbracing. aluminum does not like movements or vibrations that could weaken and crack the frame and the crossbracing will help this too in addition to dwh's point of it being capable of pancaking. i picture an x configuration on the back of the framework.