Load Balance Planning

Mangas
Mangas Solar Expert Posts: 547 ✭✭✭✭
I learned something this week during inclement weather. I'm not an electical engineer so this may be obvious to many of you. But, for those of you having limited skills as I do this may help you if planning a system.

When it's overcast, I am more aware of voltage levels in our two battery banks (32 Trojan L16s' each - bank total 64). I noticed the other day that during extended inclement, darker days voltage levels on one bank of batteries consistently runs about 2 volts or, less lower than the other bank. I didn't think much of it.

When we built the ranch house, we split the primary A/C feed loads into two 100 amp A/C breaker boxes based on rough power usage calcs to assure some redundancy i.e. one HVAC handler and A/C compressor on each panel. Turns out, in reality one air handler runs quite a bit more than the other given it is located near the garage and servicing more square feet than the other air handler. The result is house A/C power usage is slightly higher in one zone than the other, especially with added appliances post construction which weren't planned.

The engineers asked me which set of inverters usually auto starts the genny when the batteries need a little boost. Yep, same set, same battery bank. After they chastised me a little for not being more observant they are going to increase charging to the weaker bank and reduce the stronger one to balance each bank's volatge levels consistent with the actual power utilization in the house.

I didn't realize how much of an impact running say 1.5 to 2 volts lower in one bank than the other has on genny run time, maintenance and fuel usage.