Project: Designing Solar Meter

Hey all,

I've been looking into alt energy for some time now (yourgreendream, instructables, various other sites) and looking through various books (Alternative Energy Handbook, etc).

Anyhow, I'm a senior Electrical Engineering student who has a team together for a project class, and we're strongly considering making a combined solar charge controller and battery bank monitoring system with inbuilt logging and control features, so you could see how much solar you've collected over the past month, how much energy your home consumes on a day by day basis, etc.

We are considering other ideas, like being able to have the device sense when the battery bank is low and switching to grid power (trying to avoid grid-tie with this, but might be worth doing if I could find out more about it).

If there is anything you think might be particularly useful or interesting to see, let me know. If we end up doing this I plan on posting the steps, materials, etc for others to use as a learning tool. Just trying to bring solar to a wider audience :).

Also, if this seems like a silly or terrible idea, feel free to let me know as well. I figured I'd post here since you guys seem to be experts on the subject.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Project: Designing Solar Meter

For battery based systems, a load controler with setable on off voltage levels would be nice, This would aid in off grid systems being more effiecent. Rather than burning off the excess current, running a heater or AC after batteries have been topped of would allow the use of this "extra" power.

In off grid situations we want to start a generator rather than switch to grid power, since if your already connected to the grid why have batteries.