I need help

:confused:

I have been looking for a certian solar power device that I saw years ago in a museum. I forget the name of it, but it was like a light bulb with 4 "Diamond" shaped blades on the inside. They were dark on one side and the other side was light colored. When exposed to light the blades rotated, turning a small turbine and generating an electric current. I don't mean to sound like a total noob, but I am very interested in this device and where I can find them for sale. Please help.

Feel free to e-mail me also: raymondsmall@yahoo.com

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: I need help

"Radiometer" (?) for $12 + shipping:

http://scientificsonline.com/product.asp?pn=3060082

-Bill

PS: They do not generate any electricity. There is very little torque and it spins so quickly because it is in a vacuum and has a glass needle bearing (very little friction).
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

I've got one sitting on my window sill. I will look tomorrow to see if it has any label on it. The way it works is pretty simple. One side of the "turbine" heats, and the temperature difference causes the thing to spin.

Tony

No label. My wife suggests that you try the Boston Museum of Industry gift shop.

Tony
  • BB.

Actually called a Cookes Radiometer.

Interestingly, there was quite a debate on how it actually works (and is not "light pressure" as I remember from my childhood)... Learn something new every day. :D
    Over the years, there have been many attempts to explain how a Crookes radiometer works: