Music Equipment

TOMMYB1
TOMMYB1 Registered Users Posts: 6
Our band is doing a lot of out door gigs and I was wondering what size solar panel would I need to be able to use our equipment? I'm a total newbie at this.
But we keep having to many problems with the generators that we have and I was hoping solar system might work. Any help would be appreciated .

TOMMYB1

Comments

• john p
    john p Solar Expert Posts: 814 ✭✭✭
    Re: Music Equipment

well to start with what equipment are you using/?
    guitar amp? s ?
    bass guitar amp?
    keyboards?
    electronic drums?
    foldback amps ?rated output
    foldback mixer?channels?
    FOH mixer ?channels?
    FOH amps? rated output?
    Drum sidefill amps?

Lighting? type? par 64s?
    Laser light?

Duration of one show?
    time of show. midday start ? late afternoon start?
    aprox budget for solar panels, batteries ,charger . inverters??
    trucK capacity for carrying batteries. batteries are HEAVY
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Before I start quoting The Who ...:p

Forget it. If your band uses amps they will eat up more power than you can imagine. Lights? Another huge power drain.

If you want to get specific, get a Kill-A-Watt meter (or similar) and plug an amp into it. Play for an hour and see how many Watts run up. I used to have a 300 Watt, four-channel amp. If I tried to run that off my solar electric system today it would kill the batteries in a couple of hours.

I'm not saying it can't be done, but the cost involved would be enormous.
  • TOMMYB1

OK! Thanks for the info. I knew there was a lot of power needed . Was hoping for the best . thanks again . TOMMYB1
  • TOMMYB1

Yeah we're using most of that equipment and more . Thanks, TOMMYB1
  • dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

Yea, forget solar for a band. Even a small jazz trio working a wedding would require enough solar panels to cover a garage roof.