Series/parallel problem?

Options
engage
engage Registered Users Posts: 5
I am having trouble diagnosing my CIS solar panel (see attached for a picture of how I wired it - I appologize in advance for the ghetto way of attaching it as I suck at picture editing). I wired three cells in series and the rest in parallel.

Each cell produces roughly 5.5 volts and 35mA. The total voltage I get in full sun is 16.6VDC, which is good, but my amps is only 122mA. It is as if only 1 line of cells is working right. By my calculation I should be getting around 600mA or more and I have no idea why my amps are so low. I checked each cell and they produce around 35mA each.

I am hoping the problem is simple as this is my first attempt at wiring a cell. Please help!

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Series/parallel problem?

there's your problem if you actually wired it as you have shown. a series string is always + to - or end to end like flashlight batteries are. what you have shown is that 1 cell of each string has been reversed. this counteracts the general flow and it can damage that reversed cell.
    i am confused how you measured 16+v when you don't have enough cells in series to achieve that as each cell is usually in the neighborhood of about .55v and not 5.5v. for most 12v pvs there is usually 36 cells all going + to minus in series. you have 5 strings of 6 cells with a cell reversed in each string. if all were in series at .55v each this gives a voc of 16.5v so are you sure the diagram is correct in how it was wired?
  • engage
    Options

I achieve 16.6 volts because they are CIS cells and not a typical silicon cell. Each cell produces around 5.5volts. I'm not an expert or even close but I read they are more-or-less mini panels so they hit higher volts for each cell.