Marine Installation

First of all I hope this fits here?
I am installing a Kyocera KC130TM on our sailboat. It has a 2 battery system with a battery selctor switch, battery 1, battery 2, both.
I am looking for the best charge controller for the application. I have been looking at the MPPT controllers and like what they can do. I also would like to chage both batteries at the same time and also keeping them isolated from each other.
Can I install a diode in (+) wires feeding each battery from the single (+) terminal from the charge controller ? This, I would think would keep the batteries isolated and allowing them both to be charged?
Sorry, I'm new to this so be kind...
Thank You

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Marine Installation

that might work for you, but you would have to raise the voltage on the controller a bit higher as the diode will pose a voltage drop of around .5 to .7v. it would be best to use a digital meter to measure the voltage seen at the battery and use that put to the proper settings rather than what the cc would see. these diodes are often incorporated into commercially available battery isolators found in rv circles.
    one more thing. these diodes must be able to handle the full current the pv can output short circuited.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

MorningStar Sunsaver Mppt is your really only choice for this power class
  • RandomJoe
    RandomJoe Solar Expert Posts: 472 ✭✭✭

Maybe I'm not thinking this through correctly, but seems to me you can't use diodes in that application. If they are oriented to allow power to flow into the batteries, they won't allow the charge controller to power itself off the batteries. I know my FM80 says to have the battery power applied (and it starts / runs itself from that) before applying the solar input power.