grid tie questions

Hi,

I've a bunch (of questions) but perhaps I'll break them up into a solid one question with a second question on concept.

I've done a number of installations in Oaxaca and Chiapas but they've all been off the grid. I'm not a super expert but they've all worked fine and everyone is happy.

I figured I'd never have to worry about doing a grid-tie system because electricity is so cheap for the common person it doesn't work out. Also I didn't think CFE would cooperate. However a new client that I worked with on his ranch also wants a system for his in town freezer facility. He said that CFE will do net metering (he based his knowledge on WALMART which is a whole separate ball game with a nationwide agreement) so I went to check it out. First they said no and then sí after I read their regulations and pointed out there were regs for small producers. So it looks like we'll try the first in the 3 state area down here. You Arizona guys working in Northern Mexico probably already know this.

So I've been researching.....

This guy needs 3 phase and can't afford the whole thing at once. I figured we'd put in 20 of those Kyocera 205's and I've not yet decided on the inverter(s). (The changes in available technology since I started this a few years ago is just incredible!). What I really don't understand is how the inverters work with the grid. His normal load will be more than what he can produce from the 20 panels. CFE apparently uses bi-directional meters. So if he produces some of his power and they provide the rest of his power I don't get how the power flow works.