Wiring Help!! Off grid 24v no inverter just all DC

Options
lakelots
lakelots Registered Users Posts: 5
I have a 2 panel (135 watt keocera) 4 battery system with a steca1515 charge controller and midgnight solar coombiner with 2- 15amp breakers.

4- batteries are 6v each so I'm wiring batteries in series to get to 24v but I'm new to wiring dc so any help with how to wire together panels,batteries,combiner,charge controller would be big help.

I'm thinking run each of the panel's straight to the two midnight 15amp breakers in the midnight combiner parallel? plus and minus then to charge controller -fuses, batteries straight to controller-fuses, what do I do for dc consumer? straight to light string from controller? or I've got a 24v marine panel with breakers I could use to switch my dc lights and dc fan.

Just limited knowledge on dc wiring and want to make sure I don't screw it up.
Thanks in advance guys

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Wiring Help!! Off grid 24v no inverter just all DC

I have to ask: why 24 VDC if you're not running an inverter? There's much more 12 V stuff readily available.

As to how to wire it, you should have instructions with every piece you bought. They're usually very good at explaining where the wires go, what size to use, and what breakers/fuses. The basic wiring is simple enough: (-) tends to be common throughout. Panels fused before the downlead (although 270 Watts isn't much, fuses are always a good idea) with a disconnect at the charge controller. Output of the CC is fused/breakered before the batteries. Then you need fuses/breakers to protect each circuit off the batteries. You have to use the right size wire/circuit protection at each stage.