DIY Solar Panel Question

cards385
cards385 Registered Users Posts: 21
I am in the process of making my own solar panel out of a double pane window and a piece of plywood. My question is...should I put something over the plywood before I put the cells on it, the cells are very brittle and I do not want to break them. I was think something like a rubber like sheet or some cloth or something. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: DIY Solar Panel Question

I might remove one layer of glass. There is no reason to have two layers of glass, and the amount of sun reaching your cells would be diminished by the second layer of glass.

As to your question, I have no experience with home made Pv.

Tony
  • cards385

I have removed one pane, I end up with a window pane with a 1/2 inch lip around, almost like a shoe box lid. Then I cut a piece of plywood to fit perfectly inside the frame. I just thought I should put something on the wood before the cells.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

wood has a different expansion/contraction coefficient than silicon, one season and its likely your cells will all be cracked. I would never make my own, but if I did, I would use glass for the bottom as well. You could then put the sandwich on something to support the glass.

Commercial produced panels bond the cell to the front glass and have tedlar vacuum sealed on the back
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

And if the panel is larger than 10 watts or so--you should mount over a non-flammable surface (bare ground, gravel, metal, etc.). It is possible for the wood (and plastic, if used) to catch fire when the copper foil solder connections fail under load.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • GreenPowerManiac
    GreenPowerManiac Solar Expert Posts: 453 ✭✭✭

Perfect question. Perfect answer: Caulk.