opinions about wind generators

Hello,i'm new to this idea about making electricity from wind turbines.i live in Pa with rolling hills on open farmland with 10.5 mph annual wind speed measured at 50 feet.is that enough wind speed to justify building a turbine ?any comments would be appreciated

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: opinions about wind generators

there are a few areas that are rated well for wind power in pa and i believe it's primarily along the western edge of the mountains and like the county of somerset where larger turbines are being employed by utilities. i'm sure there are other more isolated areas too that have good ratings and the problem isn't so much the winds, but rather that there aren't any small wind generators that seem to measure up and the costs seem to exceed that of pv
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Fury,

In the interest of full disclosure--I am not a fan of wind power.

So, first some links to various threads and sources for wind power:
    BB. wrote: »
    Add links about wind power:

Wind Power Links
    www.otherpower.com (good forum for DYI Wind Power)
    Small windpower a scam ? Survey says SO
    Truth About Skystream & SWWP

And a general DYI Solar Builder site:

www.builditsolar.com

-Bill

Can you let us know what your power needs are? Off-Grid or do you have utility power (Grid Tied an option). Are you looking to get "fill-in power" for stormy weather when solar panels are not useful? Are you on a coastal bluff with lots of marine layer (little sun) and lots of wind?

Are you looking to save money on your electric bill or are you looking to power a remote operation (such as water pumping)?