HI all, IM NEW TO SOLAR AND THIS IS WHAT I HAVE SO FAR

tvtech
tvtech Registered Users Posts: 9
Im just more of a backyard hobbyest i guess u could say.

Anyway here is what im starting out with, a very small system.

I have 6 15watt pv,s on my roof giving me 90watts total running into a small charge controller and from it to 4 of these type batteries that i got new but real cheap as they came out of stock rotation from a warehoue and are 2-3 years of age each but were near fully charged when i hooked them up.

Here is the batteries for spec info
http://batteriesasap.com/417.html

Specs
Volt 12
Amps 134
Length 13.57
Width 6.76
Height 10.93
Terminals TI
Weight (100)
Manufacturer C&D
Model # UPS12-490MR Replaces UPS12-475FR C&D 12 Volt 134AH Battery

I have a vector 750 watt inverter w/a surge supply of 1500watt peak.
I have played around with it some like running a 19 inch tv that is drawing 75watts from the inverter and i have run it from like 10am to 5pm this way and when i shut the inverter off the pv,s will usually bring the batteries up to full in less than 90minutes.

Now i have a digital volt meter inside that i monitor when running this tv on the system, i can watch the voltage gradually drop from 13,6 volts down to say 12.4 and thats where i shut the system down as i dont want to take a chance on pullin the batteries to far down.

So the question i have is how far down can i pull the batteries before i hit the danger zone?

And are these batteries pretty good?
I paid only $35 each plus dud plus tax

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: HI all, IM NEW TO SOLAR AND THIS IS WHAT I HAVE SO FAR
    tvtech wrote: »

I have 6 15watt pv,s on my roof giving me 90watts total running into a small charge controller

So the question i have is how far down can i pull the batteries before i hit the danger zone?

So you have 90w of PV, *.8 = 72 w harvest at optimum alignment. As panels heat up, their power output decreases about 20%.