Building off-grid system

offgrid
offgrid Registered Users Posts: 20
Hello,
I am fairly new to solar energy. I am in the process of building a 1.5 Kw expandable system 24 volt from the ground up, off-grid. I will be using this system here at home, will be moving it to my property in the mountains. I am on a budget but have been saving my money and buying what I can as I go. Recently I have purchased an Outback FM80 amp Charge controller [from NAWS...best price including shipping, thanks !], although not sure if the 80 will work on the flex 500... I have purchased and building 4x63 watt solar panels (using solar cells bought from EBay...I'm sure I will hear it from you on this). Each panel will be 18 volts @ 3.5 amps. I will be purchasing better/bigger panels in the future. I am considering the Outback flexware 500 with 1 inverter to start (pure sign to run TV and the like). Then off to the battery bank (any recommendations). What I would like from you is your thoughts and do any of you have similar systems with experience to share.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Building off-grid system

Uh, you're going about it kind of "sideways".

First thing you need to do is determine your intended loads - for real - with a Kill-A-Watt meter.
    From that info you can size your inverter and battery bank, and thus determine the Watts of panels needed to keep it going.

When you go at it "sideways" you end up having to shut off power because you ran out of capacity or there isn't enough sun/panels to recharge the bank or something.

There's only two things I'll say about the panels: 252 Watts probably won't be enough and home-made panels don't survive long-term.

The FM 80 was probably more of an expense than you needed, but will allow for the inevitable future expansion.

I suggest you get a more definite idea of what your intended power usage will be and plan from there before you spend any more money.