Off Grid Storage Barn in Cold Climate

Options
SteveA
SteveA Registered Users Posts: 24 ✭✭
In my searching of the internet this seems to be one of the best off-grid/power forums i've found so while it may ramble a little i think you all can help me with most of my questions. I'm a control systems engineer so don't be afraid to get technical.

I am in the process of designing a Pole barn that will house trail maintenance equipment in the winter months in the Adirondacks of NY. The purpose is to get these expensive machines out of the weather year round. The property is off the electrical grid with a minimum of $25000 to connect it and probably more. The barn will be heated from December to the end of March. It is remote but gets good cell service so some sort of remote security may also be in our plans via 3G. This is all for a non-profit org with limited funds. We'd like the power to come in around $5-7k

The plans are:
1) 40x60 pole barn, well - insulated with concrete floors and radiant floor heat.
2) The temperature doesn't need to be warm, just enough to melt snow off the machines. I'm thinking 45 to 50 degrees F.
3) There are 2 streams on the property. The first is a high flow low head (about 20ft of drop over about 100ft. Easily 100 GPM) and the other I'm not 100% sure on the flow but I'm guessing around 7-10 GPM and I can get about 70 Feet of head over 500 feet of pipe. I am looking first at micro hydro to generate the power then wind if I can't get the proper permits for the hydro (we have lots of wind up on the mountain, especially since we're going to be a winter use facility).
4) 3G internet for security, monitoring, and webcams since it's remote and unmanned. There will be significant snowmobile traffic near the building in the winter so security will need to be present in some form to protect our barn and $150,000+ in equipment.