Battery metering

Options
How do I go about measuring the amps in my 12 volt batteries? I saw the shunts and I saw the meter on Northern Arizona's site but I am unsure if that is what I use to meter it with. I have 2 batteries in my system, one is a marine starting battery (I know bad idea, but I didn't know what I was doing and don't want to toss out the battery) and a deep cycle 115 AH battery. They are in parrallel. its also a 12 volt system as I am a hobbyist and just learning. I think I want to measure I think between 0-200 amps. (Not sure what the ah rating is on the marine starting battery).

Thanks ahead of time for help!!!!

Comments

• Kamala
    Kamala Solar Expert Posts: 452 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Battery metering

Welcome to the forum JB,

Batteries do not contain amps. They contain an electrical charge. Amps are a measure of how much of that charge is flowing through a circuit at any given instant. But we don't use batteries for given instants. We use them for specific durations. This is where the concept of Amp-Hours comes in.

Do you want to measure current flowing through a circuit at a given instant (amps), or do you want to measure the capacity of a battery or battery bank (amp-hours)? The former is an instantaneous measurement and the later is a measurement over a specified period of time.

Kamala
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options

Battery Bank Capacity.
  • Kamala
    Options

AFAIK there is no device that you can connect to a battery bank and get an indication of the AH it contains. There are devices that monitor the charge/discharge activity of a battery bank and are temperature compensated (improving accuracy) which act as a fuel gauge. However, they do require that you input the known capacity of the battery bank. Some of these even learn over time.