Roof Mounting a SunForce 50044

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I have received a SunForce 50044 "Solar Charger" as a gift - this is their 4 panel 60W system that ships with a small inverter, charge controller, and PVC pipe mounting. I'm under no illusions re. the panel output but I believe it can do some useful work. Eg. charging the electric lawn mower (gets used once a week at the busiest time of the year), external lighting, perhaps even a laptop power outlet.

Although I would class myself as a solar beginner, I am fine with the electrical/electronic side - and have built my own solar battery chargers in the past. Really where I need help is in the mounting and hardware side of things!

We would like to mount it on our shed. This is moderate size, wooden with a ridge roof and asphalt shingles. Unfortunately the ridge is aligned almost north-south, so the panels will go on the east facing side to get the morning / midday sun (the west facing side has tree shade).

I'm no roofing expert. How should I go about it? Looking on the web, there are various panel mounting rail systems but little explanation of how they work (eg. how they mount to the roof itself), and they look like they are geared for the more 'professional' systems. I need something that is pretty secure but simple to fit and affordable.

Richard

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Roof Mounting a SunForce 50044