Charging Large Battery Bank

Options
HadesOmega
HadesOmega Registered Users Posts: 6
I am an Aviation student from San Jose State University. I am making a remote airfield lighting model and was going to use solar panels to charge the battery bank in the daytime.

I was wondering how I can find out how many amps I would need to charge my battery bank for 12 hours with a charge regulator. The battery bank is in parallel for a total of 1575 AH. I want to charge the battery bank within 12 hours (assuming its discharged, probably not so realistic for solar panels) so would this mean that I would need to charge the battery at 131.25 amps? Would the battery get really hot charging at that current?

I've been reading that the batteries should be charged at 5%-13% of their capacity. So this would be 78.75A-204.25A respectively. So my number fall in between I guess.

Here is some more of my calculations:
12V X 1575 AH = 18900 watt-hours

Charge in 12 hours: 18900 WH/12 HOURS = 1575 WATTS

1575 WATTS/12 VOLTS = 131.25 AMPS

To charge

I'm going to be using 200 WATT panels so:
1575 WATTS/200 WATTS = 7.875

so I would need about 8 panels to get my battery charge assuming they'll be putting out 200 watts all the time.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Charging Large Battery Bank

You also have to figure in panel efficiency, (~80%) charge controller efficiency (+90%) and ultimately battery charging efficiency(~80%). My general rule of thumb is if you take ~50% of name plate rating for Pv panels, multiply that by the expected number of hours of good sun per day,, and that will give you a pretty good number of how many ah or wh you can draw in a day.

This number would be a bit better if you are using battery voltage rather than an inverter because there would be no inverter losses.

Tony
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options