Hello from the Sunshine State

FL SUN
FL SUN Solar Expert Posts: 94 ✭✭✭✭
Just wanted to introduce myself as I am new to this forum. I am a solar and energy efficiency advocate, and thoroughly enjoy working on anything electrical or mechanical, especially if it has to do with solar, and heating water or "making energy".

I just recently passed the FL state certified solar contractor's exam, and am working to finalize my licensure through the state. I am currently a mechanical contractor, and have been involved with building envelope science and providing people with ways to help reduce their utility consumption while providing them comfort.

I am looking forward to the opportunities of providing others a means to empower themselves by supplementing their electrical and domestic hot water from the sun. I have a solar DHW set-up that provides most or all of my hot water, and am a firm believer that solar DHW should be incorporated as a requirement in residential and commercial new construction in the future.

We are gearing up for our first grid tied 6kw PV system which will be arriving by freight tomorrow. We will be using 32 Evergreen ES-190 modules with a Sunny Boy 6000U inverter. For this first "show-and-tell" system, we will be using an electrical contractor so the customer will be eligible get their $20,000.00 state incentive. I have already found out that everything goes through the state's FSEC certification program, and am also in the process of getting this particular system approved.

I will have many questions, and as the ball gets rolling, look forward to sharing some experiences and pics with you all.

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: Hello from the Sunshine State

There is no need to deal with FSEC. The rebate program has no requirements that a system meet the approval of FSEC, FSEC feels otherwise as its the only reason for their funding and usefulness. Save your money for other expenses
  • FL SUN