Best Vmp for use with SolarBoost 2000E

Hi all,

I am new to solar and am about to begin installation of a system on my small vintage 1976 Boler trailer. I have purchased two AE-80HE (high efficiency) panels from AEE Solar and a BlueSky SolarBoost 2000E MPPT charge controller. This will be used to maintain a 12V/240 amp/hour battery bank consisting of two 6-volt golfcart batteries in series.

I purchased the panels based on a combination of their smaller physical size and the fact that AEE advertises they can produce a Vmp of 17.6 volts.

This Vmp of 17.6 seems important to me as the BlueSky 2000E literature states:

["The effect PV panel design has on performance is that panels with a maximum power voltage (Vmp) of 17 volts or greater will tend to produce more boost, whereas PV panels with Vmp less than 17 volts will tend to produce less boost"

"To obtain good charge performance a rule of thumb is to not attach a PV module of less than 16.5V to charge a 12V battery. PV modules with higher Vmp in the range of 17.5V-18.5V will provide improved MPPT and battery charge performance."

The specs for the panel were listed as follows in AEE literature:

Imp 4.55
Vmp 17.6
Isc 4.89
Voc 21.4

However: the specs listed on the back of the actual panels are

Imp 4.8
Vmp 16.7
Isc 5.43
Voc 21.1

I have asked AEE head office in the USA and they are looking into the discrepancy. (It may be a typo error or I may have received the wrong panel design)

I have also received the following from an AEE rep here in Canada

"This being said, he (kevinhenrycalgary) is incorrect about more power being delivered through MPPT with a higher Vmp.

It is the amps that charge the battery, so higher current will yield higher power delivered to the batteries.

In fact, with MPPT, the only thing that matters is the power output of the module.

So, the new specs yield 80.16 watts, while the old specs yield 80.08 watts.

My question is this: