Panel Fire Question

Hi!

I'm a slightly traumatized solar newbie.

I had a 2kW grid-tie system installed on my house, with 8 commercial poly-crystaline 250W panels, and a KACO 2.8kW inverter. The system had been operational for about a week, then we had a heavy rainstorm come in last weekend. Around noon, it cleared up for a while, and there was an hour or so of good sun. Sometime around 1pm, one of the panels caught fire, and the fire spread to three of the neighboring panels. Fortunately, my house is close to the fire station, and the neighbors were observant (I was out of town), and the blaze was put out quickly.

The damage to the house was limited, and the installer is taking care of the situation. However, I have a lot of questions, and thought maybe someone here could share some of their knowledge with me.

First, I understand this is an extremely rare occurance. But I'm trying to build up some confidence for replacing the system, and it would help if I could understand what went wrong.

I've had several explanations advanced to me, the most plausible of which were:
- water got in and shorted the system
- somehow line voltage was leaking up to the panels
- the panels were flat-out defective

The water theory jibes with the rain, but in my (limited) experience, a water-based short usually remedies itself when it gets hot enough to evaporate the water. I could conceive of a situation where the steam would deform something sufficiently to cause a wire short.

The voltage leak theory seems weak to me, because the system had been successfully operating for a week. I'd imagine the inverter is really good at isolating the line from the panels, seeing as that's a significant part of its design goal.