Planning a new home & solar - Need Help

Hello all, thank you for reading.

I am in need of valuable knowledge :D. This is the first forum that I could find about solar. I live just west of St. Louis, Missouri. My family and I are planning on building a new home on the ground that we currently live on. And I would like to incorporate a new solar array on to the new place. I am a commercial/industrial electrician. So I have knowledge of how the workings are, just not the best/newest products.

This home will be an on the grid system, and hopefully back feed the grid during the day. I am going to install a 240v - 400 amp service on the home for plenty of space and supply (and maybe a future work shop in the back yard :D). But my demand that I am figuring would be more like a 200 amp service. There will be a geo-thermal system in the hvac to facilitate the furnace/ac due to the miserable humid/hot summers and the windy cold winters. This will be an all electric home roughly 2200-2400 sq ft ranch.

? With this info, roughly what size solar array would be required. And what else would be required. (inverter....) I was not planning on installing a battery back up, but it could be a future possibility.

? With having 1.5 of 3 acres available for home/yard, would the array be best on the roof or hang vertically on the poles of the back deck? Both would face same direction and both would have the same sun. The house would be on a hill facing E-NE

? What brands are currently the better/best for the buck and for what parts?

Any help would be great

Thank You :D

Doug

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Planning a new home & solar - Need Help

Welcome Doug,

First three recommendations are conserve, conserve, and conserve.