Can someone explain which is better?

I live on a boat and am looking t install 2 solar panels but can't decide between 220 watt or 260 watt. Is there a huge difference between the two as far as power output? I am new to solar panels and would appreciate any help!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Can someone explain which is better?

The one that fits best in your space, is the best one. Look into the type of cells in the panel, and if the panel is rated for marine use.

Boats have more vibration and water than a house, and what might be a sane choice for a house, would do poorly on a boat.

Panels over 150W often are 20 or 30V panels. You would need a MPPT charge contoller to downconvert to 12V, or you are just wasting half your panel wattage.

Is this a power boat or a sail boat? Panel use - for battery top-off, or to run a cooler for a week of cruising ?

Mike
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Cost can also be a consideration: you can pay a pretty healthy premium for the latest high-wattage panel designs, which may not deliver a good watt/dollar value.

As always, start by figuring out what your power requirements are.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin