Grid tie lag time.

Newbie here. I have read that there is a certain lag time from the point at which a turbine will not provide enough juice to the time time the inverter will switch back to the grid, and visa versa. Is this always true, or will certain models of inverters make this transfer seamlessly?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Grid tie lag time.

Your question is a little confusing... I understand what you are trying to ask though...

The 5 minute "time-out" is a regulatory requirement such that the "Grid" or Utility power has to be stable (within voltage and frequency specifications) for 5 minutes before the inverter is allowed to start providing energy to the grid.

It appears that many of the "wind turbine" Grid Tied Inverters are inverters that were designed for solar panel use, but with different firmware (and perhaps some hardware changes), converted to support wind turbines.

The basic design, when applied to solar panels seems to use the solar panel energy to power the inverter--and ~5 minutes after the inverter gets enough power from the solar panels (and monitors AC line), then it will start converting (assuming there is enough solar panel energy).

When converted to wind turbine use--there are many times when the wind turbine actually goes to zero output (lull in wind, gust, 180 degree wind shift, etc.). Each time this happens, I am guessing, the inverter processor is reset and starts the 5 minute timeout (watching AC main volt and Hz) all over again.

During the day, a solar panel will almost never go to zero power (even under heavy clouds)--so the grid tie inverter processor never gets reset during the day and as soon as there is enough sunlight--the inverter starts conversion immediately.

For solar, this is great because there is no power wasted when there is no sunlight.