RV Equipment Help

sweetchuck
sweetchuck Registered Users Posts: 13
Hello all,

Another noob here with a few questions. My situation is a 5th wheel RV I'm
trying to outfit for living in full time while I travel the country. I'll be hitting
the road in April. I want to be fully self sufficient, though I may connect to
the grid occasionally in an RV park.

Here's what I have:

8 Sharp ND-167U1 - Total 1336W
Cell Poly-crystalline silicon
No. of Cells and Connections 48 in series
Open Circuit Voltage 29.04V (Voc)
Maximum Power Voltage 22.97V (Vpm)
Short Circuit Current 8.02A (Isc)
Maximum Power Current 7.27A (Ipm)
Rated Power 167W (Pmax) (+10% / -5%)
Module Efficiency 12.7% (hm)
Maximum System Voltage 600VDC
Series Fuse Rating 15A
Type of Output Terminal Lead Wire with MC Connector

6 Trojan T-105
Capacity Minutes @25 Amps - 447
Capacity Minutes @75 Amps - 115
5 Hr Rate AH - 185
20 Hr Rate AH - 225
Voltage - 6V

My head hurts trying to put these numbers together to decide which charge
controller and inverter/charger would suit my needs and my budget of $2800.
I was considering the Apollo T80 or Xantrex XW60-150 MPPT. And I've read
about the Apollo inverters, but can't find any prices posted online for those. I
was thinking I would like to get products from the same manufacturer so
they can be connected and work together. Is that important? What should I
be considering? I'm lost.

Thanks
Sweetchuck

Comments

• RWB
    RWB Solar Expert Posts: 168 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: RV Equipment Help

Can't wait to see what they work out for ya :)

How do you plan on attaching all them panels to the roof?
  • n3qik
    n3qik Solar Expert Posts: 741 ✭✭

What size RV are you getting? 8 panels needs a lot of roof space. Plus why such a large system? Your adding 700+ pounds. Unless your getting a toy hauler, you maybe going to be over weight on the trailer.
  • crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭

Sweetchuck,