Newbie Q?? solar radiator fan

Options
Hi
I would like to fit an IP55 rated PC fan to the radiator of my motorcycle, and was wondering about thepossibilities of using solar power to provide the electricity to run the fan.

My obvious concerns are the robustness of the solar panels, as i will need to mount it on one of the plastic fenders, it will also need to be quite small (about 100mm x 150mm)

any info would be greatly appreciated (i am not an electrical engineer, so please try not to be too technical with your response)

thanks

Matthew

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newbie Q?? solar radiator fan

And I don't know anything about motorcycles, so we're even! :D
    You want to put an electric cooling fan on the radiator of your bike, right?
    Doesn't it already have a 12vdc system for starting/ignition/lights?
    Lots of automotive applications come to mind: almost every vehicle today has an electric cooling fan instead of a mechanical one.

To answer your question about solar panels: there probably aren't any that would stand up to such mobile operation. At least not well. One that small wouldn't produce significant power either. You can buy 1.8 watt "battery boost" panels at most auto stores. They measure about 300mm x 100mm, and would provide a mere 150 milliamps of current at best. Remember: if the sun doesn't hit it directly, the output goes down. The likelihood of always getting direct light on a panel on your fender while moving is slim.

Almost all solar panel applications involve some battery storage.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options