Burnt Inverter

Hello to everyone on this forum. I recently returned from Sierra Leone, in West Africa, my original Country of origin where I participated in the installation and start-up of a 2.1KW off-grid solar system at my Alma Mater, the Prince of Wales School. Sierra Leone uses 220V/50hz. You can get details of this project below. I have worked tirelessly on this project from concept through installation and start-up for more than two years. Unfortunately, less than a month after I returned, I was informed that the Outback Inverter burnt down. I am still awaiting the detailed Report but the preliminary finding is that the Inverter burnt down because three 110V Belkin Surgemaster Surger Protectors that we shipped from the USA for use for connecting the Laptops at the Computer Center were "fried" and caused the inverter to burn up. I am not an electrical engineer ( I am a Civil/Environmental Engineer that got into solar because on my interest in renewable energy). I do not want to believe this story and I am looking for an independent feedback before deciding whether there is a Warranty issue here from either the Manufacturer of the Outback Inverter or the Solar Installation contractor. They were supposed to issue a lightening arrestor on the roof of the building and they did not at the time I left Sierra Leone and only recently installed it (after the inverter failure). They indicated that the following parts were burnt on the Outback Inverter.

FET Power Board FX2024E and Sine Wave Processor Board [CPU] FX2024E

The Outback Solar Inverter we bought (in the USA) and installed is FX2024ET and is a 220V/50hz unit.

Links to project

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nc19lMxIGkI

http://photobucket.com/powsolarproject

http://www.worldpress.org/Africa/3180.cfm

Thanks for any feedback.

Sam