low-amp system for small sailboat

Hi, gang....total newbie here. i might not have some of the lingo completely down yet! I've been corresponding with the folks from Northern Arizona Wind and Sun and I finally noticed the link to this forum. So I'm going to quit squeezing free information out of them and come here with some questions.

The Project: July sailing race from San Francisco to Hawaii. Estimated amps burned per day is 50. That's low for a sailboat, but I have I have it that low becasue I'm using LED navigation lights, my GPS's are all battery-powered, I only run the radios for 15-20 minutes a day, I don't have radar, etc. The main draw on the electrical system will be 18 hours a day use of the autopilot @ 1.5 amps (27 amps out of those 50, right there!). I have two 90 amp-hour wet cell, deep cycle marine batteries.

I know that it's adviseable to keep the batteries from falling below 50% charge whenever possible. I will be carrying along a small gasoline powered DC generator that puts out 15 amps DC, and I can stomach running that for about 6 hours, maybe twice or God Forbid three times times during the trip. However, If I didn't have to run it AT ALL I'd be happier.

OK...the current plan is to install two kyocera 65 watt panels onto a Morningstar Dual Battery charger/regulator, which is hooked up to the two wet cells. I have a line on two used 30 watt panels that are small and can easily be moved around the boat to catch maximum sun.

SO....questions.

1. As I calculate things, it LOOKS like I'm in the ballpark in terms of generating power, here. Whatcha' all think?

2. With the Morningstar Unit in place, do I still need to install diodes to keep the batteries from discharging at night?

3. I'd LIKE to run the 30 amp panels into the Morningstar unit, too, but how do I do that? If I can only run the Kyocera panels into the Morningstar, and just alligator-clamp the 30 watt panels directly on the batteries, that works for me, too.

Comments

• BB.