Solar panel diversion dillema

Hi All,

I just installed a grundfos 6sqf well pump w/101 box,200 box,and 3-Evergreen Spruce line 195 watt panels. This system is amazing! My pump is set at 360 feet and I think I'm getting close 5 gpm with around 450 watts per 200 unit display.Now the bad news! It fills up my 3000 gallon tank so quickly that the panels set idle half the time. My current off grid power system is the Outback Everthing. FX inverter /charger,AC panel,DC panel,and MX60 charge controller. I have 10-Evergreen 110 watt panels and 8 Trojan 6 volt batteries to complete my 48 volt system. I need to find an economical and effective way to divert the well pump panels to battery charging when water tank is full. My 110 panels are about 21 open volts and my 195 panel are about 32
open volts. By the way, My power system was professionally installed and I installed the pumping system. I'm a enhanced beginner at best. thanks,offgrid

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar panel diversion dillema

> 101 box, 200 box
    > 200 unit display

What are these ?

To charge 48V batteries, you need about 60V, which is in-compatible with your 12V pump
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

What voltage are the well pump panels setup for? (how many panels are in series, how many parallel strings?)

-Bill