my system

xpflyr
xpflyr Registered Users Posts: 17
Hello all. I'm new to this but diving right in.
I'm going to buy these items for a 2880 watt system.

1- Mitsubishi 180 watt, PV-MF180UD4, 16 panels.
2- Xantrex XW MPPT 60 Amp Solar Charge Controller
3- Xantrex XW4024-120/240-60 Hybrid Inverter
4- I am getting locally, 2, 750 AH fork lift batteries, 12 volts, to be wired in series for 24 volt.
I may add a wind generator to the system.

I know I need the disconnect box, breaker box, etc,,,.
PLEASE, any thoughts from those that know on this?? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: my system

Fire, Ready, Aim.....

Be aware that forklift batteries (especially used) are not very efficient. Their chemistry is designed to make a rugged cell that can be banged around. They have a higher self-discharge loss, and a higher boiling rate, making them more thirsty than other deep cycle styles. (in a warehouse, with lots of "free" power for charging)

Have you used the online Xantrex Sizer Calculator for your panels & charger ?

Have you considered a 48V system vs the 24V system (harder to get 48V fuses though) would give you a lot more capacity.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• xpflyr

I read so much on the subjects that I feel lost more than ever.
    I've read that the fork lift batteries are the best to use if you can afford them.