Update a small DIY project for a shed

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I have a small back yard shed that I am powering via a DIY solar system. I need some assistance in increasing the solar panels in this system.

I am fairly new at this, having had a 5.3 Kw roof top grid tied system professional installed on my house.

Power usage:
Standard 120 volt
1 65 watt fluorescent yard light that comes on at dusk and off at dawn, every night.
1 27 watt fluorescent compact bulb inside turned on when needed, maybe 2 hours per week in the summer maybe 4 hours per week in the winter.
1 fan (to be determined) to be used as needed, maybe 6 hours per week, aprox 200 watts.

Power storage:
2 Trojan T-105 6 volt wet cell batteries in series for 12 volts nominal.

Inverter:
1000 watt Xantrex Xpower inverter.

Charger:
Blue Sky SB2000E MPPT charge controller.

Current PV panels:
4 Sunforce 50032 15 watt solar battery charger, purchased as part of Sunforce 50044 Solar Charging Kit.

According to the SB2000E controller, the 4 panels are putting out about 2.2 amps peak at the high point of the day. (About 3 PM) Currently, I am having to charge the batteries overnight with a AC powered 3 level (10 am, then 6 amp then 2 amp) charger every 4 days, with the charger showing about 25% remaining capacity on the batteries when I begin to charge it.

It appears I need to add about 200-250 watts of panels to this setup to cover average normal daily usage.

Cost is a factor to be considered.

I would like to verify which one or 2 panels I should purchase as well as what cables/connectors and how to connect to the controller along with the current panels. The connectors on the current panels and included wiring is the rubber plug in where on terminal is male (negative on the cable end going away from the panels) and one is female (positive on the cable end going away from the panels.)

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Update a small DIY project for a shed