which windmill

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi,

I am new to windmills, and need some advice. I am off-grid (solar) in a zone 5 wind area (offshore Maine). My requirements are:

quiet
survivability in winter storms (frequent extended wind over 50 knots)
corrosion resistance (island environment, salt water spray possible anywhere)
low maintenance

I have read a lot of complaints about windmills on these forums. Are there robust, economical windmills available? I define economical in relation to PV, not to utility power, which is not available here. Where do I look which is not just manufacturer's hype?

I want the windmill to supplement my solar system. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Rick

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: which windmill

There are none available that meet your requrements. And if you should choose to buy one, you will find that the initial "savings" when compared to a PV system of similar wattage will be gone before you even have a wind genny spinning, let alone after it fails with the first Noreaster, if it last even that long

Spend your time and invest in PV, it meet all you requirement and the cost is realitive
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

Add PV, you will be way farther ahead in a decade! I almost drank the cool-aid, and after doing some research (here and elsewhere) I decided against it.

Good luck

Tony
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

Thanks guys.

I have heard so many positive stories about medium wind systems, I am surprised to hear such a resounding negative. Can you point me to some other reviews, critiques, etc., perhaps not on this site?

TIA,

Rick
  • Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭

See http://www.wind-works.org/

He is a fanatical wind advocate, and still slams most small to medium wind turbines.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin