Why MC connectors?

I have not purchased the latest edition of the NEC so I don't know what they say about it. But does anyone know why they require MC connectors on PV panels?

I usually don't try to second guess the code because in my career as a construction electrician I have found the code to be sensible and the requirements to be based on actual fact. But this one makes me wonder.

I insist on my panels being wired with #10 conductors pulled through Liquid tight flexable conduit to the first junction box. This is because of the problem with squirrels and chipmonks chewing everything they find.

This means I'll have to cut off the connector and saw a 7/8 hole in the panel's j-box.

What's going on with this?

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Why MC connectors?

why? i can guess it's because:
    1 they don't trust us at wiring in a junction box and :grr
    2 they are pushing those specific german connectors. :grr
    3 possibly it pays wiles well. :grr

edit to add:
    the pv manufacturers also made it a violation of warranty to not use the mc connections as further incentive and this includes cutting them, bypassing them or invading the little jbox as violations.
  • rickeolis
    rickeolis Solar Expert Posts: 110 ✭✭✭✭

I'm so glad I live in the middle of nowhere...
    Screw all that code cr%$
  • newenergy
    newenergy Solar Expert Posts: 291 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Are you suggesting that your method violates the NEC or just not happy that all new modules come with MC or equivalent connectors?

If your method is a violation, why?

690.32, to me, says that MC type connectors are allowed rather than required and 690.33, to me, says that if they are accessible they must be the new locking type (MC-4 or equivalent).

I think the demand is clearly for the quick connections rather than wiring in a junction box.

Also, are you really going to cut holes in the sealed jboxes of new modules?
  • Roderick
    Roderick Solar Expert Posts: 253 ✭✭