solar bicycle

I'm a physics teacher building a solar bicycle at my high school. I don't know what size battery/solar panel or what kind of regulator to use. Any suggestions? (I have a 3-wheeled recumbent bike that goes very fast when pedaled.)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: solar bicycle

I guess it all depends what you are trying to do...

If you are entering a solar powered vehicle for a race across America or Australia, there would be one type of answer.

If you are trying to demo solar power on a sunny day in the parking lot at school, it would be another.

If you are trying to create a reliable commute vehicle, the answer would be a 3rd option.

And, depending on your skills, how much money you wish to spend, who will be riding it, where you life (sun, wind, and hills) and how far, all will modify the top three questions.

You probably are looking at a 300 to 600 watt motor (isn't a typical human capable of about 0.1-0.2 hp on a bike or 0.2*746watts=149watts)... Assuming that you cruise at 0.1 hp for 1 hour, then that would be 149 Watt*Hours. A typical car size storage battery would contain about 1kWh or 1,000 Watt*Hours of energy... If you use about 1/2 (for long battery life), a car size battery would send you about 500Wh/149W=3.3 hours (at whatever a good cruise speed for conditions would be).

If you wished to use a solar panel at high noon mounted to the bike... A full size panel of ~175 watts (~$900+tax list price) would be capable of driving the motor... Of course, high noon, panel pointed (and tracking) towards sun, and that the wind blocking effects of such a panel (63" by 31") don't slow you down or allow the wind to blow you off of the road.