Beyond Newbie with Questions...

Folks,

I am brand new to renewable power. I've been reading misc. google searches to try and bone up but would really like some more experienced/senior opinions to help guide me.

My goal for renewable power is not to make money (saw some great threads from 'Kim' on here about people hoping to sell their extra power back, get grants, etc. That's not really my goal), nor do I need renewable power to get off the grid.

I'm just seeking to supplement my existing grid power in addition to my lifestyle efforts to be green (turn off lights, unplug stuff, recycle plastic, etc.).

I don't vision needing batteries, I'd like to just tie it into the grid where I could trickle power back and hopefully reduce my bill while doing something good and fun. I'd consider it a hobby with the upside that unlike other hobbies I would actually get SOME return on my investment.

In my readings on this forum, it would appear solar is a better (at least more reliable/robust) option vs. wind for residential budget/use which is why I figured I would explore it first.

My scenario:

70's style modern residence on 10 acres of land. The roof is a single slanted angled style and does get full sun pretty much throughout the day (the slanted surface runs E-> nicely). It seems like we might luckily have a good scenario for solar panels on the roof.

Goal:

Find best value for a residential solar system that I could mount on the roof and supplement my grid power.

I'd like the system to be the best blend of price point, quality, and reliability (again, the best 'value' overall-- I'm not looking for the cheapest and would rather pay extra for quality but don't need the latest whiz-bang expensive either).

I'd like years of service free operation out of it, and would like something easily scalable (so perhaps as I could afford it, add additional panels for increased power).