Solar Panels For Air Conditioner ??????

biznitch15
biznitch15 Registered Users Posts: 7
Hello Gents, I need some info about buying a solar panel or two just for the sole purpose of powering the AC and or Heater. I am by no means an expert but i can get by with some technical terms since reading other Threads from this forum. Is it a good idea in the first place, is there many people that do this exact thing?

I'm definately not trying to buy a complete solar home system. I dont want to do grid tie and my budget is $2000. Will this Suffice? Help please!! Thanks.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Panels For Air Conditioner ??????

:roll: i don't mean to be mean or anything like that, but you couldn't have read very far into the forum or you'd realize this is the type of post most of us would roll our eyes on. i don't want to discourage you about going solar either, but you need to have a better understanding of how much power air conditioning or electric heating draws and what that would cost in pvs.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

You need to look at how much power you wish to consume... Assuming you are in the SF Bay Area (Oakland?), you don't need near as much power for A/C here as you would in the central valley...

For example, I live pretty close to you and have ~$30,000 worth of Grid Tied solar and that, during the summer, generates roughly 500 kWhrs per month ($60 worth of electricity)...

Say, you want to run an A/C unit that can cool several rooms (in a well insulated home). Assume that it takes 20 amps @ 120 VAC... How long will 500 kWhrs run that unit?

500,000 Watt*Hours / (20A*120V) = 208 hours per month or about 7 hours per day...

Is that worth $30,000 (about $20k after state and fed rebates) to run a good sized room A/C unit a few months out of the year? Probably not.

That $30k system has 20 solar panels (175 watts each) and a 3kWatt Grid Tie inverter mounted in my garage.