Please Review & Comment

I'm a newbie that has come up with this basic RV solar system design after reading forums and internet research. The module size is based on a friends 10 year experience. I will add a second when we start serious traveling. I would appreciate comments about wire size, the need for fusing (size and location) and anything else that comes to mind. Right now I'm leaning towards the Xantrex C35 controller with battery temp sensor and the remote monitor. My hope is to have a system that keeps the batteries charged with little attention and one that doesn't burn the RV down. Thanks for your help.

Mike

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Please Review & Comment

You don't mention what sort of loads you will run off the inverter. That becomes important as you draw 12V @ _ _ _ Amps from your battery, the wire needs to withstand that, and not loose energy as heat.

You should have a Fuse or a fusible link somewhere, close to the battery, so if a + wire gets pinched on the frame, the fuse/link will blow, and not torch your RV. If you are using a circuit breaker as your Battery Disconnect, it needs to be a DC qualified one.

Wire your batteries on the "diagonal" (sketch attached) which will equalize the wire losses.

You may want to include some provision for battery charging via "shore power" or off the vehicle's alternator. Often though, the alternator will not provide enough voltage to fully charge the different chemestry of a deep cycle battery, it's about a volt higher than a car's electrical regulator, but it would work to bulk charge a very low battery in a pinch.