Xantrex solar controller question

islandskies
islandskies Registered Users Posts: 11
Hi, I'm a solar newbie planning what to buy for my 1st system.

Just a question on the Xantrex solar controller.. I'm a bit confused on the max voltage. The spec sheet says 150VDC max under any condition. What V does that refer to? the open circuit V, or Max V?

I will run a total of 8 205W panels.. So if my understanding is correct in that I can hook up 4 panels (16V nominal/36V open) in series to achieve 64V nominal/144 open. The same for the other 4 panels, then wire both sets up in parallel for total of 64V nominal/144V open to the controller? thanks for any advice.

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Xantrex solar controller question

The 150 V limit correlates to the temperature-corrected STC Voc. NEC 690-7 provides temperature correction factors. Use the following TCF's for your local morning low temperatures (degrees F):

77 - 50: 100%
    49 - 32: 110%
    31 - 14: 113%
    13 - -4: 117%
    -5 - -40: 125%

Choose the TCF that applies to your area and multiply it by your proposed array's STC Voc (144 V?). If the result exceeds 150 V, then the controller could be damaged. Also note that while 150 V may be a unit's absolute limit, the operational limit may be lower. For example, the OutBack MX60's operational input voltage limit is 141 VDC. The unit will disconnect the array if it's higher.

The "Averages" link in a local weather report from www.weather.com is a good source for local temperature data.

Note that the 150 VDC limit is common. It's shared by the MPPT controllers from Apollo, OutBack (MX60 and FM80), and Xantrex, and also by popular PV array DC circuit breakers from OutBack and MidNite.

HTH,
    Jim / crewzer
  • islandskies
    islandskies Registered Users Posts: 11