Seeking advice on DIY solar package

Options
Friedfuse
Friedfuse Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
I am new to DIY solar and still researching and reading to learn more.

Recently I came across a deal on some older solar tech and am wondering if anyone has insight or advice on whether or not it is worth purchasing for 1k.

I'd like to set up a grid tie in but am tinkering around with off-grid setups to learn more about DIY first.

Do you think this equipment is worth it, or is the 1k better spent elsewhere?

Tagged:

Comments

• JRHill
    JRHill Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Elsewhere is my vote. Other than the stuff's age, a "modified sine wave" inverter would have me continue on if that is accurate. But it was good stuff in it's day.
    Off Grid. Two systems: 1) 2925w panels, OB VFXR3648, FM80, FNDC, Victron BMV-712, Mate3s, 240 xformer, four SimpliPHI 3.8; 2) 780w, Morningstar 30a, Grundfos switch, controller and AC/DC pump, 8 T105. Honda EU7000is w/AGS. Champion 3100. HF 4550, Miller Bobcat.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,471 admin
    Options
    Agree with JR, that "mix of product" is not going to work out well for you... The 4x100 Watt panels are probably too small to run the 3,600 Watt AC inverter (need almost 10x that size of solar array to meet "most people's Watt*hours per day expectations"--The batteries, I could not find anything about them, so don't know if a "good match" for inverter and solar array.

There are just a lot of "better products" these days. My suggestion is that any units over 10 years old are, potentially, at the end of their life--And would be near impossible to get parts/serviced. And, if lead acid batteries, they are probably do not have much life left in them (3-5 years typical for less expensive batteries--Batteries that have not been on "maintenance charge" daily/monthly will sulfate and die, etc.).