How to decide

t12zh
t12zh Solar Expert Posts: 62 ✭✭✭✭
I want to buy a Skystream 3.7 Grid Tie Wind Generator but do not know if it is the one i need.
I am new to this and do not know if it is a good idea to buy a unit that is intragul type power unit.
Should i buy seperate parts and pieces.
Greg

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: How to decide

Do you have good wind in your area (and few obstructions like trees, buildings, etc.)? In general, if you have good weather and sun--solar PV is better for day in and day out generation... Wind power tends to be more seasonal/storm related (when stormy no solar, lots of wind--so makes good backup for solar PV) in many areas.

Just a quick look around some wind maps (on Bergey's site) seems to show the area around Pueblo Co. as not that windy.

If you have some successful wind installations already nearby--that would be a good sign.

Is this a "do it yourself" project--or a professional install for most of the work?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • t12zh
    t12zh Solar Expert Posts: 62 ✭✭✭✭

It will be a do it myself.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

I would talk to real owners of this machine and not bogus referrals from the manufacturer. Once you have obtained that data, I would almost bet that will not go with that p.o.s. It doesn't work and putting all of the electronic components at the top of the tower is ridiculous. SWWP does not care how many times you have to lower and raise your tower to eventually never get this Dud to work.

I am a wind advocate and I also believe in getting good old fashioned service, especially after the sale. There are people lining up to make a quick buck in this industry with no regards for support or service. Keep in mind, there is no current fix for the SkyDud, yet they wouldn't hesitate to sell and ship you a box of garbage.

Kim
  • Noodles