Solar analog charger trouble

Hi again,

I'm a real newbie in this. I have been testing out my analog charger for a few weeks now, but the batt is not charging for some reason. I need some tips as to what might be the problem.

1. When the solar panel is charging the battery in bright sun, is the voltage supposed to go up to about 17 V ? I remember reading this somewhere..

The open circuit voltage I measured is around 12.7 V and the current 0.33 Amps and when I connect it to the circuit, the Voc is still around the same.

2. The batt voltage at rest is 12.35 V. When the battery is charging should it's voltage at terminal should be higher ?

I'm using a 12V AH SLA and 12V 5W. The charger is attached below. Thank you.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar analog charger trouble

can you give us some more details about the panels? make model etc.. especially all the data on the spec plate on the panel...

CheersEric

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

It's a very cheap, generic 5W panel. I don't have any data on it and there is no spec plate ..
  • System2

Unfortunately what the sellers of these little panels don't bother to tell their customers, is that they aren't really meant to "charge" batteries, rather they should be considered battery maintainers. That is, they supply just about the right amount of "charge" to keep the battery from self discharging. They are of no real use in actually charging a standard deep cycle battery.
    But - - they do want to make that sale don't they :(
    A properly sized panel will indeed raise the voltage of the battery as the battery becomes charged.