New Solar User

PeterPanel
PeterPanel Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello Geniuses!
I'm a new solar user and found a deal on some Schuco panels, $30usd each.  So I bought a few to see if they would be useful to me.  The ratings are as follows:

Pmpp 185Wp
Umpp 36.5V
Impp 5.09A
Uoc 44.8V
Isc 5.47A

I'm looking for guidance on stepping these down to 12V-15V and charging a bank of 12V deep cycle batteries.

I also have a number of questions on a scratch built system for use in my shed and yard lighting, nothing major just safe reliable and cost effective.

I have seen step down transformers with minimal circuitry so I might provide power to a charge controller and charge a 12V deep cycle.  I might also drive a power inverter for light 110V loads.

Topics I need help with include:  Circuit diagram, breaker placement, panel measurements, max volt/amp/watt. As well as mitigating the solar electrical supply so that I can support a 12V deep cycle battery bank.

I'm a beginner, but I have worked on and solved some difficult and complex situations in other technical and non-electrical situations.  I'm capable of understanding and learning but I lack the specific background and equipment exposure to build a solar powered system.

I'm hoping you can help. 

Thanks!

Peter

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome Peter!

Solar is rarely cost effective.

To do things most cost effectively, with the VMP (not Ump) panels, you can either look for am MPPT type charge controller which would down convert most of the wattage to the correct voltage to charge a 12 volt battery bank, and it would also control the charging. They aren't very cheap. They are rated on current output in general.