Off Grid Solar Power need to keep Generac Standby Generator Battery Charged so it will start

Options
NorthernMI
NorthernMI Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello,

I am new to solar and have been reading up but need some expert advice that I haven't found on Google yet for my particular issue. 

I have an off grid barn where I recently ran some electrical and installed a Generac 7.5kw standby generator. I assumed the generator would charge its battery when it was running but since it is designed as a "standby" generator, it is supposed to get its power from the house to keep its battery charged. The generator has an onboard control panel which is consuming some power as well. 

So one thing I plan to do next is run a wire from my panel to the T1 connection on the generator so when the generator is running, i will backfeed power from the panel to the T1 which will start charging the battery. However, I will not be running it every day so the battery will still die on me. 

Can solar keep this battery charged for me in Northern Michigan winters? If so, what do I need? Can I do it for under $500?

The battery that needs to stay charged is a Group U1 and is around 350 CCA I believe. 

Comments

• Aguarancher
    Aguarancher Solar Expert Posts: 315 ✭✭✭
    Options
    You should be able to find your answers in this link.

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Will you be running the generator at least once a week ?   How long do you run it for ?
     You are out of the normal operating mode for the generator, and so you have to kludge something together , that will recharge the battery during the run  time and then completely shut down the electronics until the next run.

Trying to run the control panel and keep the battery charged, is going to be cost prohibitive, and I think you will be better off with a 30A automatic charger running off the AC output when generator runs.